The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

There is a recommendation to the president of Climpson Industries from the vice president of human resource. According to a national survey, it has a great number of employees use company’s computer for personal or entertaining activities. The proposer, therefore, indicates that the company should apply the monitoring software to manage the workers’ Internet in order to increase the productivity and overall profits. However, the proposal is unconvincing because the numerous equivocal assumptions must be made for a sound proof.

To begin with, the arguer provides the proposal based on a national survey. It seems that the argument assumes too hastily that employees in Climpson Industries also use companies’ computers for personal and recreational activities. It is unwarranted that over-inferring all workers would bank and play games because of a general national survey. Besides, the national survey does not illustrate clearly that the exact time period when these workers use computers for banking and playing games. It could be possible that these activities are done in the free time. Any of these scenarios, if true, would undermine the claim of implementing electric monitoring software. The arguer should supply more detail of the survey to support the indication.

The other dubious fact of the argument is that whether banking and playing games are wasting time. Sometimes, workers need to relax and distract from their intensive tasks to inspire their potential. Google company, for instance, the most successful business which is also celebrated for establishing the gym, the wonderful cafeteria and a variety of playrooms. The managers encourage their employees to exercise and enjoy the life but sit on the chair and become a working machine. They believe that this would be beneficial to the company’s significant benefits and faster growth. As this case, unless that the employees in Climpson Industries indeed waste the entire day on the net, applying the monitoring software and trying to forbid the employees from using computers for other activities would not be helpful for the productivity and benefit.

On the other hand, the arguer asserts the best way to raise productivity and benefit is monitoring the employees’ Internet from their workstation. Nevertheless, it could be a negative reaction that these laborers feel that the managers are not trusted them. Even though that the managers found their employees would waste time while the work-time, the solution of applying the monitors would only make the tense atmosphere among the laborers. There must be some alternative plans to prevent them from wasting time and attribute themselves into works. The bonus is always being an impetus for employees. Perhaps the managers could rule the deadline or design a competition for the attention; the employee who finished the job could get the amount of payback. By this encouragement, the employees would be glad to work with considerable effectiveness.

To sum up, the claim is not convincing as it represents. To reinforce the statement, the arguer should provide the detail and the background of the survey and figure out the time period of the employees waste. In addition, the appropriate solution is needed to be discussed as well. Without the advanced analysis of implementing electric monitoring software, the argument is wary of acceptable.