We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening th

Retail company directors are always thinking of ways to boost business and productivity. The case of Monarch Books is no different. In this instance, the Board of Directors of Monarch Books suggests that opening a cafe in its store would boost customer numbers and enable them to compete with rival bookstores, specifically Regal Books. While this recommendation is made out of goodwill so as to improve business and upgrade services, the reasons surrounding this proposal are extremely flawed. Many statements were made based on assumptions, misguided use of statistics and lacked significant quantification.

The most striking claim made by the Board was that 'opening the café would attract more customers'. This was not backed by any statistics or examples on how such an addition would increase customer base. There is also no solid reasoning on why Monarch Books' customers would be increased from its present customer base by means of a cafe. The only clue we have about Monarch's present customers is that they are numerous and they are drawn by 'its wide selection of books'. The Board simply assumed people would be attracted to the bookstore if a cafe would be opened. No form of survey or studies have been done to quantify how much more customers would come if a cafe was opened in the bookstore.

Even more startling then the lack of quantification for their claims, the Board also suggested boldly that space for the cafe can be made by discontinuing the children's section based on data from the latest national census. They argue that children's books would attract less business due to the 'a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten'. Here, the Board uses a national data to justify their decision of a bookstore that might have been situated in a localised area and community. The data while representative of a nation as a whole, is not representative of the community or its own customer base. If demographics of the community it is situated in differ significantly from national statistics, closing the children's section would have been a very grave mistake.

Finally, the board also made a questionable analogy by juxtaposing Monarch Books with another company, Regal Books. Regal Books though also a bookstore, might be have a significantly different customer base. It might specialise in selling a certain genre of books. If its specialises on selling lifestyle books such as cooking, art and travel books, then probably a cafe would be welcomed by readers in the bookstore. Furthermore, it is also not clear why Regal Books would decide to open a cafe. It might have done so for reasons other than attracting more customers such as providing a better reading experience for its customers. There is also no indication that Regal Books attracted more customers as a result of opening a cafe.

It is noteworthy that the Board has come up with novel ideas to try to attract more customers to patronise its stores by providing more services. However, the proposal made lacked research and solid reasoning. Just because a rival bookstore has a cafe does not mean Monarch has to do the same. The proposal can be strengthened by justifying the costs of opening the cafe with comprehensive surveys. Potential customer base must be identified and interviewed. A demographic study of its current customer base has to be done. Most importantly, the benefits and costs of opening a cafe must be evaluated carefully to better understand the possible outcomes of such a decision.