We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café.

In the above recommendation, the author makes the suggestion of opening a cafe in the aforementioned bookstore(Monarch bookstore). The author then proceeds to give a handful of reasons why this step will lead to increased success for the bookstore. However, there are a few unwarranted assumptions made by the author. Also some vague statements are written by the author. I would like to point out some of the fallacies in the above passage and suggest some rectifications.

First of all, the writer mentions that opening a new cafe in the bookstore will attract more customers to the bookstore. But a clear explanation for the reason behind this statement. Will the cafe lead to the sale of more books? And how is the cafe conducive to customer satisfaction? Just saying that the cafe will lead to more customers is not sufficient.

Another fact posited by the author is that the children books section be replaced by the cafe, since the population of children in that age period has decreased. This does not mean that the sales from children's books has decreased. There is no correlation between children's book sales and population of children. Also, this statistic may not reflect a changing scenario.

Finally, the author makes a comparison between another bookstore(Regal bookstore) and concludes that the bookstore under consideration should follow its steps. However, it does so without studying or mentioning the full facts. Has constructing the cafe improved the sales in Regal bookstore? What are its strategies? Thus, a complete study is required to give us an in-depth perspective about the effect of the cafe.

The recommendation made by the committee is a good one, however, it should be backed by thorough analysis and facts.