"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that opening cafe at Monarch Book will attract more customers, rendering its main conclusion that it will compete with their counterpart Regal Books.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the location in which Monarch Book is situated has people which prefer going to cafe. If the people of that location do not prefer to go to cafe than it will be of no use of Monarch Book to open cafe. Moreover, usually people go to cafe for having some good time with their friends. It is not necessary for the people who visit to cafe will be interested in buying any books from Monarch Book.

The argument would have been stronger had it provided information regarding the people who visits to cafe on often basis. Even then, the argument would have to further prove that, the people who visits to cafe will be buying books also.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. Even if the population of children is less, it does not means that population of children in the particular region where Monarch Book is situated is also having less children’s. In fact if the major customer of Monarch Book would be children’s than by removing the children’s section would reduce the number of customer visiting. Nonetheless, argument assumes that because there is a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten it will also result in low selling of their books.

The argument would have been stronger had it provided information regarding the sales of books according to age wise. This would imply that which section of books, they can discontinue.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that opening a cafe will increase the customer base further. The argument is based on the assumption that Regal Book will be having an increase in customer base. But there is no proof about how the Regal Book is performing after opening the cafe as well as before when there was no cafe because Regal Book has opened the cafe recently.

Even if the Regal Book is performing well it is not enough to assume that Monarch Book will also perform better. There are many important questions which need to be answered like, Are the customers of Regal Book and Monarch Book having same distribution according to age? If Regal Book is having more customer of age less than ten after opening cafe then it will surely not helpful for Monarch. Similarly, Is the Location of Regal Book and Monarch Book is same? Because to assume an increase in customers at Regal Book after opening cafe does not implies Monarch Book will also have an increase in customer if both the stores are at different Locations.

Suppose Monarch Book is situated near a School whereas Regal Book is situated near a college. In this case Regal Book might see increase in customer by opening a cafe but on the other hand Monarch Book will see a decline in numbers of customers after discontinuing the children's book section.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books.