We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument provides a recommendation for the opening of a café in Monarch Book Store. According to the author, it will help the store to attract more customers and, hence, will flourish the business. However, the supportive reasons presented by the author provide certain significant fallacies.

One, as per the argument, Monarch has been in business for more than twenty years and has a large customer base because of its wide collection of books. But, this statement comprises an unjustified assumption that, a successful book store can become a successful café too. It might be a case that customers like Monarch’s books, but not it’s coffee. A good book store along with café might attract people, but if they get an unpleasing experience in café, the Monarch may lose its customers too.

Secondly, the space for café in Monarch book store is arranged by removing the children’s book section. This decision was made on the basis of plummeting percentage of people under age ten, however, it does not present a satiable data that could prove the direct proportionality of this declining percentage and child customers of the book store. It might be possible that a good proportion of Monarch’s customers belong to people under age ten. In this case, removing children’s books section might have a detrimental effect on Monarch’s book store business.

Finally, the argument states that by opening a café in its book store, Monarch is competing with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café. However, no as such weighty information is presented which can give an idea regarding the on-going competition. It might be possible that Regal Books is facing a business fiasco, and hence, to protect its business, it opened a café as a side-by option.

To sum up, the author might strengthen his opinion by stating factual figures regarding the number of books and its customers. The argument may be fortified by presenting more pleasing reasons behind the need of café.