Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton 50 miles away Moreover relative to population size the diagnosis of stress related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton

In the above statement, the author asserts that workers of Leeville less suffer from stress-related illness and have less sick days of their workplace than workers of Masonton because of their relaxed pace of life. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes several assumptions which cannot be taken for granted thus the argument remains largely unconvincing without considering further evidence to verify the author’s claim.

Firstly, the claim hinges on the assumption that less sick days of Leeville has causal relation with relaxed pace of life, however, this may not be the case. Because there are other contributing factors to influence lower sick days of workers. For example, if companies of Leeville have more rigid and tight policy allowing their workers to get a sick day, then it may cause lower the number of permission of sick days than Masonton. It is also possible that the amount and degree of work in companies of Leevilles is more demanding thus it makes their workers be reluctant to take a rest at their home even if they are sick. Therefore, the author has to consider if there are any other alternatives to provide explanation for the situation rather than relaxed pace of life.

Secondly, the author assumes that the number of diagnosis of stress-illness reflect the actual number of people who suffered from psychological problems. However, the number of diagnosis may not the same of the actual number of patients. If most residents of Leeville’s do not afford the expense to go to the doctor or if there are not enough medical infrastructures in Leeville, the number of diagnosis of stress-illness may not reflect the number of patients in Leeville. The city of Masonton, however, the plentiful number of doctors and citizens who are affordable to go to the hospitals may cause to increase the number of patients who got diagnosis of stress-related illness.

Lastly, even if residents of Leeville are far from stress-related illness, the author assumes that relaxed pace of life is the only factor deciding less outbreak of stress-related disease, however, there might be other contributing factors. Since the town of Leeville is small, it might be possible that residents of the town has more intimate relationship with neighborhood than large city of Masonton and it may allow residents of Leeville to have healthy mental state. Counsel programs which aims to control one’s mind by town might influence to reduce the number of patients of psychological problems. Thus, the author needs to provide information pertaining to characteristics of town of Leeville to justify the conclusion.

In sum, the argument is not well supported and based on incomplete assumptions. Several alternative explanations can be brought forth which could substantially undermine the plausibility of the author’s claim thereby calls for the need for further evidence.