Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument which concludes that the woven baskets which were found in the vicinity of prehistoric village of Palea, occurring in uniquely distinct patterns are no more unique is not entirely logically convincing, Since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the argument assumes that since there were no boats found across the Brim river, the author concludes that the Palean Baskets were not unique. Here the author ignores the fact that there could be many other ways by which there could be an possibility of finding the Plaean Baskets across the Brim River, one of the possibility could be, the river water may have driven away the baskets across the river during heavy rainfall and also the people of palean may have delivered the baskets to neighbouring places by themselves.

Secondly the argument never addresses the scenario in which he mentions that since the Palean boat were not found across the Brim river, the Palean Baskets are not unique. But this is wrong assumption because the author mentions that the Brim river is broad and very deep hence there could be a possibility that the Palean boats may have sunk in the river and were not found. In another scenario the Palean people may have delivered the palean baskets across the brim river and continued their journey in the same boat and hence the palean boats were not found across the river.

Finally the argument omits the fact that the palean baskets were made by the palean people and these people may have visited different places and showcased their unique qualities by creating the palean baskets and hence this can be the reason that the palena baskets were found in lithos.