Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the passage establishes that distinctive basket was not unique to Palean city by taking unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to justify assumptions to support his conclusion by providing further evidence.

An assumption has been made that both cities, Palean and Bithos, were different and Brim river existed in same time period. It could be the case that both cities were part of a single large city where these distinctive basked were made. Later, a geographical change created a river and separated the large city in two separate cities on either banks of the Brim river. If it’s established that river and both cities existed in same time, then it concludes both cities were separate and the basket could not be unique to Palean.

Argument for only boats being used to cross takes makes an assumption from current situation of the river, being wide and deep. However, it could be the case that in ancient time the river was thin and shallow and people could have swim across or built a bridge. Since this factor is important to say that only boats can be used to cross the river, it needs to answered to confirm there was no other means of transportation.

The mode of transportation between both cities has been assumed by Palean boats only. Author fails to imagine that a boat from Bithos could be used as a transportation medium which could point that both cities would be trading. As baskets had a distinctive style, it could have been traded and can be found in either city. This answer is required to say that basket could have been unique to either cities.

In conclusion, author has disregarded various factors which needs to be answered before establishing uniqueness of the the basket.