Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument conferred that the so called “Palean” baskets were originally not unique and does not only belong to Palea. The author supported the claim by explicating the existence of such Palean baskets in a village, Lithos too. The statement justified such presence of Palean baskets in Lithos, by stating that, no Palean boats were found over the Brim River. However, this reason is not significantly justified and presents certain fallacies.

As the author states, archaeologists discovered such baskets in Lithos too and thus, this affirms that Palean baskets were inimitable, however, it might be a case that some Palean people would have settled in Lithos and started making such baskets. Later on, other inhabitants of Lithos might have learned the technique and hence, Palean baskets were found from Lithos also.

Also, the argument explicates that no Palean boats were found on Brim River, but a contentious question arises that, on what basis it is assumed that Palean people might have crossed the river by using Palean boats only? It might be possible that some people from Lithos or other village came into Palea and created boats that were not typically relied on the local Palean methodology. And thus, later on these boats were only used by Palean people to cross the river.

Finally, the presence of Palean boats is directly related to presence of Palean baskets. Here, the author ignored the case that it is possible that Palean boats might be present, but archaeologists were unable to discover that.

To conclude, the statement may be true, but, the author may strengthen the statement by contemplating data on other imperative features apart from presence of Palean boats, such as the lifestyle of people, presence of nomads in such villages, etc.