Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument claims that Woven baskets which were previously found in nearby areas of prehistoric village of Palea was believed to be made only by Palean people only, but since the archaeologists found a “Palean” basket in Lithos, the distinctive Woven basket that were earlier associated with the Palean people are no longer uniquely identified by them. The Brim River , which is very deep and broad is said to be the reason for making this claim. The archaeologists claim that since there are no Palean boats found, the Palean had no means to travel to the other village in Litho and thus not able to carry the Palean Woven baskets with them. This claim holds many assumptions and does provide proper evidences regarding the claim.

The reason that if something is not found, then it didn’t exist is not a proper justification to give for any argument. The author mentioning that there were no “Palean” boats arises questions like, were there any distinctive pattern for boats also to identify them as Palean boats? Is there any theory that Palean did not use the normal boats for travelling. Nothing has been mentioned about the boats being uniquely identifiable as “Palean” boat in the argument.

Secondly, the Woven basket found in Lithos village could have come there by some external natural force. It may be a possibility that the river water carried some of the Palean baskets to the Lithos village. Several natural forces like flood and cyclone can be accounted responsible for this. Thirdly, the author did not mention that if the people of Lithos had any kind of transport to cross the river. The author has ignored the point that the Lithos people had a boat to travel between the villages and they brought the ”Palean” Woven basket to Lithos.

Lastly, the author talks about the basket to be earlier characterized by the prehistoric Palean village. The author mentions the Brim river between the villages of Palean and Lithos. The author assumes that the Brim river was originated before or since the prehistoric period of Palean village. The author negates the possibility that the Brim river could have originated after the extinction of Palean village. It could be one of the reason that the Palean village did not need any boats to travel to the villages of Lithos.

To conclude, the author argument that the Woven basket was not uniquely associated with the Palean as Palean did not have the boats to travel between the Palea and Lithos is not justified.