Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Although the baskets were found in the immediate vicinity of Palea it does not mean it was made by the Palean people. Moreover, the assumption that because a boat was not found the Palean people were unable to cross the Brim River is incorrect.

The assumption that any items that are found close to Palea that it must have been made by the Palean people assumes that there is no other way that the basket could have come from anywhere else. It could be very likely that the Palean people traded with other nearby villages in exchange of items like the basket. If that were true then the basket could have originated from a nearby village and have never been made by Palean people.

A trade route would also discredit the assumption that because a basket was found in Lithos, the Palean people had to have crossed the Brim River. If a complex trade route were established among multiple neighboring villages, then the basket could have originated from a village that were accessible to both villages without crossing the Brim River.

Lastly, just because a boat was not found does not eliminate the possibility that the Palean people had the ability to cross the Brim River. The ancient village would have used materials that were available to the ancient world. Many of these materials would include plant materials like wood and rope or animal products like leather and fat --- all these biological materials are susceptible to degradation over time. This would make it very difficult for a modern archaeologist to discover and be able to distinguish the remains of an ancient boat.

Because of these flawed assumptions, the writer's argument that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean is questionable.