Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument states that since, archaelogists have discovered a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brime river from Palea, so, the Palean baskets are not unique to Palean. However, the argument doesn't seems to be cogent.

First, author didn't considered the possibilty of alternate route to commute from Palea to Lithos or vice versa. The presence of alternate routes undermines the the claim that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. It is viable that people might have travelled from Palean to Lithos and could have sold the Palean baskets there. This vividly explains why a Palean basket was found in Lithos.

Furthermore, author states that since no Palean boats are not found in the the Brim river, so, no Paleans could have crossed it. The author neglects the fact that since river itself is very deep, so, searching anything in such a deep river is extremely arduous task. It is also be possible that people might have used boat to cross the river and then they stayed there only and never came back. The boat might have been destroyed and used for some other purposes like for lighting fire or something similar.

Also, presence of a Palean basket in Lithos cannot be taken as face value to reach to any conclusion. It may also be possible that if one go around and searches for Palean basket in nearby areas as well, he may find Palean basket there also. This pellucidly illuminate a possibility that Palean people might be transpoarting baskets to nearby regions for capital.

In a nutshell, presence of a Palean basket in Lithos in no way can be taken as base to reach to conclusion that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.