Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a “Palean” basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Merely based on unfounded assumption and dubious evidence, the statement draws a conclusion that the so-called Palean baskets were actually not the genuine Palean. At first glance, the author’s argument appears to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that the statement omits some substantial concerns that should be addressed, and thus, not cogent enough to substantiate the argument. At least, this argument suffers from three main logical flaws.

To start with, the author claims that Palean people could only get to Lithos by boat, because that the Brim River between them i...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.