Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The authors claim that Palean basket was not uniquely Palean is extrapolated based on various weak assumptions . He fails to provide sufficient evidences which underpin that Lithos also made the so called Palean baskets.

The Palean basket which was discovered recently was found in Lithos, while the author does not provide any concrete evidence that Palean people were isolated to Lithos. His conclusion that Paleans never travelled to Lithos resulted from archaeologist’s failure in finding any Palean boat. While, there is a possibility that the Paleans never made their own boat, they always used to buy boats from the neighbouring villages. The author’s assumption that Paleans only used Palean boats to travel to Lithos is flawed. Similarly there it may have happened that the Palean boats must have been destroyed or wrecked or the period of time. One may also the think that the Paleans would have used all their boats to migrate to a different location.

Even if we consider that Paleans never travelled to Lithos, there is a possibility that Lithos learned the concept of Palean baskets from Palean. The people of Lithos might have travelled to Palea and during their stay they may have acquired the skill to make Palean baskets. In the above argument the author does not provide any evidence which hypothesizes that Lithos never travelled to Palea. The author does consider the possibility of Lithos travelling to Palea. The above statement undermines author’s conclusion.

Likewise the author posited that Brim River was the same hundreds of years ago as it is now. There is a possibility that the river was very thin and shallow, hence it was possible to cross it without using boats. Similarly it is also possible that the Brim River never existed in the pre historic age and travelling from Palea to Lithos was easily possible. Therefore it undermines authors claim that Palea was isolated from Lithos.

Concludigly, I reiterate that author fails to bolster his claim by evidences which can be concurred logically. It would have been more sensible if he had provided more evidences which proved isolation of Palea to Lithos.