Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that Lithos can only be reached from Palea through crossing the Brim River by boat, rendering its conclusion invalid.

First, the argument fails to address whether or not Palea and Lithos were separated by the Brim River during prehistoric times. The landscape on the Earth is constantly changing, and it is quite fathomable that many years ago, the Brim River did not exist. In this scenario, the Paleans could have walked on dry land over to the city now known as Lithos. Moreover, the argument states that this river is deep, which again may not have been true during prehistoric times. Had the argument provided evidence that the Brim River existed during those times, it still would have to prove that the river was similar in depth and width back then as it is today.

The argument also fails to provide any evidence that the only route to reach Lithos from Palea was to cross the Brim River. For one, the Paleans could have traveled to Lithos through a longer, less direct path. If the Paleans were able to find an alternate route that did not require boats, they may have been able to reach Lithos by traversing wilderness or mountains. The argument would have been strengthened had it provided evidence that there are no other viable routes between Palea and Lithos. Even then, the argument would have to prove that the routes could not be traversed in prehistoric times, not just in the present time frame.

Finally, the argument assumes that because no Palean boats have ever been found that the Paleans could not build boats to cross rivers. It is possible that the Paleans constructed boats out of perishable materials, such as twigs and branches, that did not stand the test of time. If the purpose of their boat was simply to cross the Brim River and nothing more, they may not have needed to keep the boat after the journey. In fact, maybe the valuable resources that made up the boat were then repurposed into building houses or fires. Had the argument provided evidence that the Paleans had no way of crossing rivers, such as written documents from the Paleans stating this, it would strengthen the argument.

Because the argument relies on several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the Paleans did not inhabit Lithos and weave baskets there. The argument would have been more persuasive had it included stronger evidence of the infeasibility of crossing this river during prehistoric times.