An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat the medical condition

I'd like to take the side of the patient, that he should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating patients who had similar ailments. This will indeed help the patient get a better idea regarding whether the particular doctor is suitable to treat that medical condition.

Getting hands on the records will allow the patient to do a thorough assessment of the way that doctor works. Which will in turn enlighten the future path that the patient will go through if he or she decides to choose that doctor. First of all this clears up many questions from the patients mind. Let's say a cancer patient will get a better idea of around how many chemotherapy session will take place and what will be timeline for the comming sessions.

Also by getting the records, the patients gets the chance to get in contact with the other patients who have already been in his or her shoes. They can get idea about the experience the other patient had with the doctor. Apart from this it will also help the patient get a betting understanding of the prognosis of the ailment . Patients can also share some home remedy information with each other. For example a patient suffering from malaria can aid the other patient by suggesting a home remedy that taking bath with water having neem leaves soaked in it helps in reducing the irritation.

The patient also gets the idea about the future costs that he might have to bare by seeing the medical records, so that he can be better prepared regarding the arrangement of the resources. If the doctor's methods are too costly he can start looking for other doctor so that he doesn't end up stuck in the middle of his treatment.

Having the patients record open to all other patient also creates a transparency between the doctor and the patient that is very much important fromt the patients perspective.

But as every coin has two sides, this has it flaws too. Giving the records implies that the privacy and confidentiality of the patient is gone. These records can also be misused which is very harmful to the doctor's reputation and of course the patient.

Having said that, I'd still be inclined on the records being available to the patient as its pros outweighs its cons.