An ailing patient should have easy access to his/her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

In today's era of technological inventions, there are many inventions made in the Medical field. Thus, now it is possible to cure almost all diseases if given proper treatment. I definitely agree with the author's recommendation as this recommendation would be helpful both for patients as well as doctors.

Firstly, there are enumerated hospitals and clinics in every city and Why not? Every year around 1 Lac Medical students are passing out from college (approximate statistics from India). So, competition between hospitals/clinics are increasing day by day. Thus there are lot of options for people or patients to choose in which hospital they want to get admit. In such a situation, if ailing patient get access to his doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients, then it would be easy for him to make a choice. For example, In my city, Pune (India), there are many hospitals/clinics and people always get confused where they should go for treatment. I have seen lot of people asking others about reviews of hospitals and clinics. Thus, this recommendation would solve confusion of many people related to choosing hospitals.

Secondly, It is not the case that each and every doctor is knowledgable and everyone's medical treatment record is up to the mark. So, in such cases, getting access to doctor's record would give clear understanding of doctor's ability to treat patients. Sometimes, because of doctor's mistake, patients may have to suffer grave loss. For example, few days ago, My close friend Rahul died during treatment for Dengue disease. Ofcourse, Dengue is not a life threatning disease. The reason behind my friend's death was improper treatment of doctor. That doctor made incorrect diagnosis of patients illness and gave improper treatment, thus my friend had to lose his life.

Finally, Many people can argue that the patients may misuse the information against the doctors, they may incorrectly judge doctor's ability by reviewing doctor's record, or what happened in past records would not happended in future. However, I would like to say that If doctor want to be a successful , then he has to keep his record perfect and he can give explaination to his past records to his patients. If his past records are justifible, then why patients would say 'No' to doctors treatment. Moreover, Doctors whose records are perfect, then they may use this record for publicity of their hospitals which would attract more patients.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation will be beneficial for patients to solve their ambiguity of choosing proper treatment.