All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Mandating that parents to volunteer at thier child's school would be an unreasonable policy. It would be harmful to both parents and employees of the school.

This would alienate both single parents and parents that work multiple jobs. Parents who are working multiple jobs may already be working a 70 hour work week. This is on top of raising a child. There is simply not enough hours in the day for someone in this situation to volunteer. They might have to resort to quiting one of thier jobs to do work for the school with no pay. It could be argued that, if one parent is working so streniously then the other parent could do the volunteer work. This argument is invalid because, many children only have one parent. This policy would actively punish single parents and parents with multiple jobs. These parents already face hardships the average nuclear family would not. This policy would only add another one.

In addition to this, parents are already sacrificing much of thier hard earned paycheck to the school. Private schools can cost exorbatant amounts, and while public schools are free to attend parents must still pay the price of; uniforms, books, calculators, and supplies. It is an unfair action to ask parents to preform free labor for the school on top of making them pay for it.

Further more mandating that parents volunteer also jeprodizes the school employees. The volunteer work that the parents would do would probably involve things such as suriving lunch or cleaning classrooms. There are already employees of the school who get paid to do these things. Replacing them with free labor, would be taking away the pay check they live off of.

Requiring parents to volunteer for thier child's school is unreasonable considering that; they are already donating much of their money to thier child's education, it jeprodizes jobs for shcool employees, and it is unfair to sinlge parents and parents who work multiple jobs.