All too often companies hire outside Consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were spending more time listening to their own employees such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your response for the position you take in developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statements stated here suggest that instead of hiring outside consultants for the company to operate more efficiently a better solution would be companies listening the suggestions of their own employees. This is not a valid argument.

Hiring outside consultants have a number of merits. First of all such consultants are trained specifically in improving the various process and aspects of the functioning of the organisation so as to make it more efficient and productive. As they have formal training and have expertise in the matter of consultancy, they will be handy and useful.

Another advantage of hiring the outside consultants are that as they are not a part of the organisation, therefore they will be looking at each and every situation with an indifferent and an objective view. The employees on the other hand would try to make suggestions and changes that will ease their job and would have a limited scope limiting to their own department.

The consultants, as mentioned above would be indifferent and would look at the bigger picture of improving the overall efficiency and productivity of the organisation. Also the outside consultants bring along with them a different point of view and different approaches which may not be thought by the existing employee.

As the consultants keep on associating with different companies they can improve a company's efficiency by modelling a plan which worked in some other organisation. They can use their own expereince for the benefit of the organisation.

All the things mentioned above just give an edge to the outside consultants then the existing employees. But one cannot generalise and their could be a possibility that all the above suggestions can be implemented by the employees without the help of an outside consultant. It is just that the consultants are formally trained and are experts in the domain of consultancy so they have a edge and are preffered by the organisations.