All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The author here is suggesting that the companies hiring outside consultants for suggestions to operate more efficiently should rather listen to their own employees for solutions. Although third party consultants would provide better solutions, I strongly agree with the author that employing internal solutions would be a better option. After all, the foundation of the company depends upon the performance and satisfaction of the employees.

First of all, to support my staunch I would like to point out that hiring outside consultancy services would not be a cost effective method and would probably end up in abruptly increasing the overall budget of the companies. The reason for higher costs is that most of these companies have consultancy service as their only major area of expertise. They would employ their best professional to provide innovative and aesthetic solutions for method of operations of the company. These solutions would probably also include enhancement of the company structures which would cut off a large amount of money from the company's budget. These kind of solutions would not be beneficial for companies which are entitled to lower profit margins.

Secondly, I would like to add that these consultants would suggest some alternative methods which may be resented by the employees. Many employees prefer working in an affable and free environment. Studies also suggest that companies with stringent laws are likely to perform less effectively compared to companies with flexible laws. Enforcing companies with unfavorable solutions such as long working hours, reduce paychecks just to increase the efficiency would in along period led to employees resentment.

Moreover, no one other than the employees of the company better understand the working environment of the company. Talking to the employees and coming up with solutions internally without involving the third party agencies would be the best method to come with a better working plan which will improve efficiency. For instances, consider some tech giants such as Google or Facebook. This companies provide a more employee friendly environment and discusses all the company issues internally without involvement of the other consultants. The result is that these companies are now the largest and most successful companies in the world.

On the contrary, it may sometimes be effective to consult some outside agencies. Some companies may require some major changes to overcome from growing debts or employ new work force. In such cases the outside consultants may prove more helpful.

Thus to conclude, in order to flourish in the market and to employee cost effective and employee friendly solutions the best option would be to consult the employees of the companies than to consult outside companies. This would in long run prove beneficial to both the companies and to the work force of the company as it would be cost effective and promote employee development.