All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.Write a response in which you discu

Outside consultants for increasing the efficiency of the company might seem counter productive to some as it is the employees who are more aware of the lackings and improvement opportunities of the company. But the importance of outside consultant can not be overstated and might be the deciding factor in the turbulent economic condtion. While the statements provide a popular opinion regarding employee empowerment and extracting solution from within the system, this approach has some fundamental lackings.

Firstly, companies mainly hire outside consultants for their expertise. Most of the companies focus on their 'base business' and develop expertise in operating business smoothly during an expected circumstance. But when there is a different project or changed circumstance in the organization, the company might lack in expertise and hence might be a victim of poor efficiency and reliability. Then the expertise and skill sets of outside consultants come handy. The consultants generally have vast and diverse experience in the business which might not be achievable 'in-house'. We can see this kind of situation in a lot of oil and gas operator companies. While the big operator companies masters the day to day reliable operation, during major project or changed business condition they have to bring in the outside consultants or service companies. This practice not only helps them to improve efficiency but also maintain a balanced outlook for the future.

Apart from expertise and experience brought by outside consultants, the unbiased position of them is also valuable for the company. When the employees of any organization provide opinions, there is a fair chance of being biased based on their position and experience. Thus, critical decisions like vendor selection, cost cuttings, lay-offs etc. might not be effective if the company tries to exercise these by their own employees. But outside consultants are free from these prejudices and biased viewpoints. They are generally in a better position to make disinterested observations and decisions.

In addition, sometimes a fresh pair of eyes can solve a convoluted problem which may be affecting the company. The employees might fall prey of 'Normalization of deviation'. It is a phenomenon when a deviation from right practice occurs for a long time and the personnel within the organisation starts believing the deviation to be normal. Such normalization of deviation may cause the company reduced efficiency and financial loss. These situation are best picked up by the outside consultants as they do not fall victim to the company culture regarding 'how it is done here'.

Some people might argue that, employees are more aware of the company problems and they might be the best source for developing the solutions to these problems. This is true for day to day problems but when the need for seeing the big picture comes into play it is not helpful most of the time. The employees might think within the box where the outside consultants will be able to assist them to broaden their horizon and ultimately make the organization more efficient.