All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The statement asserted is partially true as companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently because they don't listen to their employees and want to inhabit the methods that other companies use to work more efficiently. But, the main problem is that doing this just make the employees a bit nervous. Since, if in a company you are not able to express your own thoughts it would be like am I being listened or I am just a cog in a wheel? As, people really need to feel being wanted.

As, Simon has quoted "Customers will never love a company until the employees love it first." Admittedly, it is quite true that if there is no space for the employees to express their feeling and views they would never think of betterment of company. So, there should be a free-style of working that allows employees to express themselves. Moreover, it is equally true that happy is your employee, happy are your customers and successful is your company. However, the companies which do not listen to the ideas and don't have free-style of listening to employees eventually end up looking for the consultants for their company to run more efficiently. However, this just leads to proliferation of money as if companies team would have spent more time listening to their own employees about the methods and measures that could be taken for proper flow of the company the consultants would have been not required and even the employers would be happy as they are being listened and are allowed to think for the betterment of companies. So, it would be beneficial for their motivation and the way they would treat their company. Perhaps, sometimes it is necessary to even call the consultants in companies to boost up the level of employee as the consultants would express their ideas to them and they would be able to look into them and work accordingly.

Nevertheless, if the companies treat employees like they are wanted and make a difference to the company they will surely work hard and do good things that are beneficiary for companies and this would just mean that they can express their ideas and the need for consultants required would be less.