Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When studying what makes a great leader, we often rely on historical leaders and those who paved the roads before us to provide an archetype for such a leader. We often see leaders as brave, making decisions for the greater good -- even if this went against the current belief system-- that may have been revolutionary, and well respected by their peers. However, there were many leaders who are ravened today for their actions, who were scoffed at by their peers and were not respected at the time, because their actions were not understood during that historical era. Yet when looking back, we can see that leaders who maintained sound moral judgement was a key tool to their remembrance as a great leader. Maintaining the respect of their peers, though a key asset for a successful leader, is not as important as possessing sound moral judgement.

To begin, in order to make positive change and impacts, we must recognize that change may result in the entrance into unchartered territory. When considering whether to make one decision over another, it is important to consider what is best for the greater good, what has sound reason and moral justification, rather than the respect that a leader maintains with their peers. For example, a political leader in a conservative state or country may recognize the importance gay and lesbian rights in the nation. If they belong to a very conservative community, recognizing and advocating for the needs and rights of all humans on moral ground may be tumultuous for the relationships between that political leader and their peers.

To continue, a new leader of a company may recognize that the company must be more transparent about their revenue. Perhaps the company was committing fraudulent acts and the new leader does not want to be in collusion with such affairs. This leader may lose the respect of their peers if they decide to cease such fraudulent activity, as it may mean that company employees may see a decrease in their salary. However, this sound moral decision is important for the greater good, even if it results in the loss or diminishment of the respect of their peers. Possessing this sound moral judgement is thus a necessity which supersedes the maintenance of respect amongst their peers in order to advance for the greater good.

Furthermore, it is necessary to consider the effects and potential outcomes of possessing sound moral judgement the respect of their peers versus maintaining the respect of their peers. If a leader maintains sound moral judgement, they may be able to make decisions more clearly that will benefit the group (be it the workplace, nation, taskforce, etc.). They will have the ability to look at the broader picture and keep the interest of the greater good in mind. Losing this ability may result in chaos if they make immoral decisions which could result in several negative implications. A good leader may even choose to sacrifice their reputation and respect of their peers, if they can recognize the benefit of such a decision on a moral scale. On the other hand, maintaining the respect of your peers, though important for a positive work environment, would not be as destructive should it be tarnished or even lost. If a leader loses the respect of its peers, although not ideal circumstances, the leader can continue to make decisions which benefit the greater good. They will continue to be effective in their role. Therefore, by viewing the pros and cons of having versus losing these key attributes of a leader, one can clearly see that sound moral judgement should maintain higher importance when discussing the effectiveness of a leader.

It should be noted that these arguments are not without their limitations. Morality is a highly contentious issue and philosophers have debated over what is 'right' versus 'wrong' for centuries. This moral gray area makes it difficult to determine what qualifies as 'sound moral judgement'. As an example, to illustrate this point, one could argue that making an environmental decision which will benefit the greater good in 100 years would be immoral if it meant that those today would have to make certain sacrifices in their lifestyle, while another could argue the complete opposite. So, although it is easy to say that a leader should poses sound moral judgement, quantifying this characteristic is significantly more difficult in practice.

In conclusion, it is more important for a leader to poses sound moral judgement than the respect of their peers. This will allow the leader to view the broader picture, rather than the view of their immediate circle and the respect of those around them.