In any field of endeavor it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

Being a research student myself, I strongly propound the statement that one must be strongly influenced by past achievements of a field in order to make a significant contribution to the field. This statement, however, although nearly always true, is, as is possibly every other assertion, subject to some exceptions and grey area.

A field of endeavor is nothing but an aggregation of the volley of contributions done to it by a raft of people. What we call "Physics" today can be seen as the cumulation of discrete ideas of great scientists like Socrates, Archimedes, Newton, Einstein, etc. If one is not influenced by the past contributions of the field, then it is tantamount to saying that one is not influenced by the field, or one has no interest in the field. Someone who cannot appreciate the principle of gravity, or the ingenious simplicity of newton's laws of motion, or the prevasiveness of Einstein's theory of relativity, surely does not understand either of these. This is not to say that one must always approve of the past work that has been done in the field. Being dissatisfied with an idea does not prevent one from being influenced or being able to appreciate the thought behind it. In fact, dissatisfaction, just like appreciation, is crucial in contributing something novel to the field. But, on the other hand, not being moved by the sheer ingenuity of the past contributions raises questions upon the understanding one has of the field itself. It is also very important to be abreast of all the previous work that has ever happened in the area. There have been numerous cases of amateurs and fledglings coming up with ideas "of their own", only to realise later that these "novel" ideas were established or refuted some hundreds of years ago.

The support for the statement asserting the importance of influence from past achievements does not imply that one must be aware of or appreciate every single thing that has happened in the area. Often a subject branches out into many discrete yet overlapping topics which a scholar in today's world specializes in. Having a basic background knowledge, so as to be able to build upon the existing and not do redundant work, is, however, crucial. Finally, when stumbling upon an idea one may not realize the ramifications of it and its use in subjects not even existent at the time. Karawaski's multiplication algorithm lies at the heart of efficient computations today. While originally a mathematician, this algorithm was just a mind trick for efficient calculation for school students. Karawaski, who did not even know about anything such as computers, managed to make one of the most fundamental contribution towards the existence of computers.

Thus while being influenced by the past achievements in a field is crucial for making a significant contribution to it, there might exist not such achievements at all when the field is being developed.