In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The role of history in a civilised society is to enable reflection and influence a better future. Likewise, in any sphere, this holds true. Various achievers in numerous fields talk about being influenced and inspired by notable achievers or achievements in that field. It could be philosophy, technology or even politics, but reflection upon past successes facilitates one to thrust forward.

Carl Pei, a 26 year old Chinese man, notices, that all round him, all his friends, were using Apple products, specifically the iPhone. Not entirely for its functionality, but for its aesthetic value and brand image. Frustrated by not finding the same in any Android phone, he ventures to build a phone, which went onto gain cult-like fandom, rivalling that of Apples fanboys. He called his company OnePlus, and openly spoke about how Apple's and Steve Jobs achievements in creating strong branding techniques and design ideas influenced him.

Another example, is the Greek philosopher, Plato, whose Platonic theories and ideologies are pervasive throught many philosophy teexxtbooks. He claimed that all that he knew came from his teacher Socrates, and was so highly influenced by him that most of the time he would be quoting Socrates verbatim.

Along the same lines, another person known to quote verbatim, is current Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Modi. He came from very humble backgrounds, from being a tea seller, to being the head of state to the most populous democracy of the world. He was deeply inspired by former political figures, like Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King, and was influenced by their achievements. He believed that with struggle and perseverance anything could be achieved.

However, one could possibly refute this concept, because, many great achievements made in several fields happened solely because the people who pioneered them, were inspired or influenced by nothing of the sort, and that is precisely how they brought ground-breaking innovation to that field. Steve Jobs being an apt example of the same. He dared to think that phone didn't need to have keys and went onto give us the smart phones we hold in our hands today.

Finally, the take away is that achievements take place, because somebody dreams them, and dreams are an image of what goes in our minds. Likewise, one person's achievements could be attributed to reflection on similar past achievements.