In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Contribution in any field, anything from research to business tend to improve that field to new heights. Experts in the field have better knowledge and are more experienced than the novice in the field. Even though a novice may be avid and enthusiastic about his new field, that energy is less likely to be transferred into significant contribution in his yearly years. But with prolonged efforts, it may be possible.

Experts with all his years of dedication and experience tend to have more knowledge in the particular field than a relative tyro. For example, scientists working on a complex field like string theory, quantum mechanics have more insight and overall idea that a novice about these topics, which make them more likely to make important contribution. After years of knowledge they may know the common mistakes that are prevalent in the field and avoid them in their work. We cannot expect the beginner to be as infallible as the expert, as it is highly likely that they may not be aware those mistakes.

Moreover, nothing substitutes the hard work and dedication of a person. There is a possibility that a novice may come out with a new idea. But it is more likely to be a beginners luck than the result of his efforts. Hard work is the only secret mantra that always pays off. For example, in his famous interview, Messi once said,” It took me 18 years of hard work to become an overnight success.”

On the contrary, experts working in the same field for a long time tend to have the problem of having a channeled vision. They may have restricted their efforts into a specific area that they tend to miss the big picture and gradually become lost. But the beginner has the broad perspective on the topic and may make a contribution in an area which may been oblivious to the expert.

In summary, we cannot expect a novice artist to pull out a "Monalisa" in his first attempt or a relative newbie to write a play with Shakespearian command over the language within a single year. So it takes diligent effort and years of dedication for a person to be successful in any field. The concept of becoming an overnight sensation may be possible in the world of cinema, but may not be feasible on the real world.