In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Proponents of the notion that beginners in any area of study are more likely to make important contributions than experts argue that this is because dilettantes bring a fresh perspective to old problems. Although this may seem plausible at first glance, it is actually an erroneous claim because it has been only the experts, not the beginners, who have changed humanity from important contributions in their respected fields.

First, it is a prerequisite that before any scientist makes a contribution to their area of study that they have the basics down.  It took Nicola Tesla 40 years of diligent studying of electromagnetism and volts before he was able to theorize and construct the world’s first alternating current motor. He revolutionized how electricity could be delivered from the power plant to people’s homes.  His contribution was from long and arduous amounts of work. A beginner in his field would have been so far behind that they would never be able to have done what Tesla achieved.

Second, in Scientific America, an article explained a new discovery of the brain that humans need roughly 10,000 hours of intense concentration in whatever field they are studying before they are able to get what are called gamma wave bursts. These gamma wave bursts, otherwise known as insight, is how new ideas synergize together to create something novel.  Game changing ideas require insight and beginners lack the ability to ascertain insight as often as experts.

Although a beginner to a field can potentially bring great contributions, this notion is rather the exception than the rule.  The rule is that you must have adequate knowledge before you can make a difference. One must know the background before they can effectively try new things. For example, how impactful to the field of biochemistry, where it takes decades of understanding 3-demensional organic figures, could a graduate fresh out of college contribute? Not very much compared to a seasoned scientist because in organic chemistry it takes years to understand complex ideas.

In a final analysis, while it may be easy to romanticize that a beginner could somehow outshine an expert in a certain field, the reality is that experts have the necessary ability to create insights and by looking at the history of game changing events in mankind, it is clear that it is the experts, not the beginners who make the important contributions to their areas of study.