In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

A person is said to be an expert if, he is able to identify and solve all problems in his field. On other hand, a neophyte is a person who is new to the field and has no prior experience in it. So, it is more likely that an expert will provide significant contributions than the beginner.

Expertise in any field is achieved by thorough understanding of the subject as well as having hands on experience on it for some time. For example, a “Java Programmer” will be considered to be an expert in programming field only if; he is able to complete a given task in stipulated time as well as using a proper programming logic. This programmer possessing the knowledge of using correct programming technique and producing redundant less code is more likely to contribute significantly than a fresher.

As the old saying goes on “One often learns from his mistakes” meaning that unless and until a person makes an error, he won’t be able to get detailed knowledge of his subject. Similarly, it is possible to tackle a situation if we have gone through it previously. This increases chances of an expert to make significant contributions since; he may have faced extremely tough situations and is able to assess them in a proper manner. Whereas, a beginner may get nervous if he is put under pressure and might lose his cool.

Contributions can also be achieved by inspiring from previous works. So, only an expert will be able to understand the flaws in the previous works and be able to rectify them. A fresher might get inspired from previous works but, since there is paucity of knowledge, he might not be able to contribute in a significant manner that an expert would. For example an expert in data analysis field can identify flaws in the previous technologies, like inaccuracy of the data, failure to handle large volume of data etc. because, he might have used them in the past whereas, a fresher might only know the existence of such technology and cannot identify its flaws.

Also, it is true that once we find a way to solve a problem, we always prefer them to tackle in the future but, this limits our thinking capacity. A fresher having no prior knowledge is more likely to think in a different way and this might lead to significant contributions. However, possibility of such contributions is very less.

So, it can be said that an expert can contribute in a more significant than a beginner would.