Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To a larger extent, it can be said with confidence that if the leader will keep changing his decision, direction or strategy based on the reactions he is going to get from the public, then he won't be able to achieve what he has thought for his nation/country. His job is not to take easy decisions and be simply famous among the public, but to take hard decisions and think of the future and the benefits, his policies are going to bring to his nation. However, in certain cases, it is wise to roll back the decision if the push back is really strong or the consequence of implementing the particular policy is going to do more damage than good. I shall be defending this by embellishing more details in the succeeding paragraphs.

Firstly, let's take the example of Malaysia's Mahathir Muhammad. His vision and enforcement of the majority of long-sighted policies have taken Malaysia to a level what it is today. Its economy is booming and getting stronger with every passing year. Trade and political relationships have improved multifold, not only with neighboring countries but also globally. All this has been made possible for the vision Mahater had in mind for Malaysia. To achieve all this, of course, he had to take certain hard decisions. Implementing tax rules, based on various income brackets and increasing the ratios for business was not easy. you can only discharge this if you are convinced that whatever you are doing is needed and is the right move for the country. you will face certain challenges in accomplishing what you want, but it is worth taking up those challenges once you are convinced of the results.

A similar example is that of China. we all know, China is still the largest country by population. Its population has reached 1.5 billion. However, this could have been way more if the government - or its leaders - have not enforced the rule of having only one kid per family. it is not hard to imagine, getting such a rule approved by the parliament is never easy. But the leaders were convinced hence they got it approved and had to struggle a lot to get this enforced throughout the country. The push back was tremendous but for the greater good, that has to be implemented. Now after around 15 years, analysts around the globe have started appreciating this wise move by China and its leaders.

However, there can be cases when certain decisions are enforced without proper due diligence. The probability of failure in those cases is relatively high and as the public starts showing their frustration and register their reaction through social media and even through riots, governments are forced to roll back those decisions.

To recapitulate, a true leader is the one who knows what's best for his nation and country and does all his best in his capacity to enforce the laws what he has thought would serve best in country's favor even if he gets a push back or negative response from the public for the time being. In the longer run, he will be one who will be acknowledged for this wisdom and long-sightedness.