In any profession business politics education government those in power should step down after five years Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be

- Leaders, be it business, politics, and education, have shaped the course of history. They are the ones who lead and set an example for the rest of the society. Some leaders took his/her terms for a long period due to stability and insight that short-term positions cannot not generate, whereas others may as well be supplanted at regular intervals to forestall stagnancy and revive the entity. I disagree with the claim since not all leaders should step down after five years, with the valid opposition against the reason aforementioned. There are other primary factors that contribute to determining success of the enterprise than new leadership.

- Granted, in politics, it is dangerous for political leaders to assume their role for more than five years. Throughout the early human history, monarchy was deemed as a paradigm of ruling with consistency and continuity of policies and political activities assured. In the case of Roman Empires, which is considered to be one of the most thriving nations once in history, a probing question deserved closer scrutiny is then why it did not succeed in lasting forever. The reason why more than half of countries in the world nowadays have adopted democracy over monarchy is in such intrinsic feature that marks corruption and degeneration of monarchy. Those in power end up with abusing power, stories of embezzlements and appropriation abound, and briberies, frauds, and nepotism never fail to appear in the front pages of historical books. Take Adolf Hitler for an extreme example. During his long-term reign granted with absolute power and no limitations imposed on him, he took extensive measures to implement his supremacist and racially motivated policies. This racial hygiene resulted in the systematic murder, especially known as the Holocaust, the World War II genocide of the European Jews. If Hitler’s term was hampered to five years, many lives would not have been sacrificed and many tragic incidents would not have been recorded in history. Hence, terms of political leaders should be limited to five years.

- However, it is hasty to follow the stated argument since it is not applicable to those in authority in other fields, such as business. In other words, prolonged leadership is conducive to successful path for enterprises in business sectors. To illustrate, Bill Gates, the chairman of Microsoft, the world’s largest personal-computer software company, held primary responsibility for the company’s product strategy from its founding to 2006. Due to this long period in power where he could fully realize his potentials, he could not only create the Windows program but diversify the company’s range of products through his knowledge and experience. Consequently, he climbed the ladder of success and the company’s popularity soared quickly as products sold worldwide.

- Moreover, revitalization through new leader is not the most powerful key to ensure success. Primarily attributable to success in business sectors is creativity. Take an example of Steve Jobs, an American entrepreneur and inventor, best known as CEO of Apple Inc. During his long-time position to run the company, his innovative ideas play a more crucial role in the success of Apple. Whiles others placed emphasis on the function of computers and cell phones, he was the creative one to emphasize the vital role of aesthetics. His stylish designs and creativity had led to the initial success of the firm. Furthermore, when Apple was losing its competition against Microsoft’s Windows platforms models, returning to Apple and taking power, he instigated several state-of-the-art technological products, such as iPod. Thanks to his outside-of-the-box ideas, Apple was able to regain its popularity and revive its stagnant businesses. All things considered, innovation is a more essential key to the success of an enterprise, overriding new leadership.

- In brief, not people in all fields should step down after five years. New leadership is not the surest path to success. What truly matters is keeping enterprises abreast of changes and constant attempts to innovation, breaking old boxes that contain old thoughts limiting desirable potentials to be materialized.