In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue presented above is a contentious one. While many people might argue that discussion with the opposite faction might reduce the general impact of the idea and could nullify the whole agenda of the idea presented, I, on the other hand think that this discussion has resulted in the development of our world as a whole. While some may take examples of Steve Jobs whose visionary ideas changed the world, I'd like to draw their focus to the millions of other companies that have been flourishing because they have discussions among each other to take their companies forward.

The basis of any democratic country is the quid pro quo among the opposing factions of the legislature of the country. Taking an example of the USA, the main parties are the Republicans and the Democrats. Any bill that has to be passed needs to go through the parliament where the opposing factions mull over it to come to a common ground where both the factions are satisfied that the bill would be good for the country. If any one of the factions bring a preposterous bill, then discussion with the opposing party would obviously help to make the law that is formulated better than the bill that was proposed. This kind of structure of the parliament of the country has made the USA what it is today.

The more strengthening argument can be made by taking the opposite scenario as in the example above. In a democratic country, the people in the parliament debate over every aspect the other party introduces and as a result we get laws passed; however, in an autocratic country whatever the person in-charge wants, could be the law. There is no group of people who have contrasting idea to the despot's and as a result it hinders the overall development of the country. Let us take a few examples starting at the present day North Korea. The government is ruled by a tyrant who does what he pleases and people would argue that the country has been progressing. However, just a few technological advances does not justify the massive human rights violation, and hence the progress that the country has achieved is only superficial one. Another example in a similar scenario could be the country Saudi Arabia where the women of the country still have to hide from public under a burka. Since it is a Muslim country, no one even dares to oppose the law and that has resulted in the emigration of many women from the country - similar to that of the people of North Korea.

I can understand how some people might have reservations agreeing to the idea above. They might argue that discussion doesnt result in progress. And I agree with them at a certain level. An example that could be taken is the infamous disagreement between Thomas Edison and Nikola Tesla regarding the availability of energy as a free resource. As a result, we still are paying the electrical bills which is definitely not in the direction of progress. However, had it not been for that discussion among two leading scientists, we probably would not have many of the appliances that we have right now.

The discussion among people who have contrasting ideas has made the world what it is today. Few bad instances might have happened during the long journey of development of the world but a few do not outweigh the many and as we can see, this discussion has made world a better, easier and safer place to live in.