In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

If there is a contrasting viewpoint, yes discussion is a must. Considering we are talking about a professional environment discussion has always been a free and effective source of renovation and development of a particular decision in an organisation. Discussion on a matter where conflicting points of view exist, it is better to inchoate the conflict by discussion, moreover, a discussion will help maintain a proper desirable work environment.

Two or more conflicting points of view will point out the pros and cons of both the sides, which the other decision makers were unaware of or might not have considered earlier. Numerous pros and cons will direct the decision makers to view the issue on a different scale as well as through different perspective, and then the decision makers can inspect, judge, summarise these presented issues to come up with a better option. Hence, discussions lead to a highly thoughtful, more effective and less erroneous decision. For example, a construction company has decided to build a hotel whose sewage will be led out through the existing sewage pipes, but a question has by put forward by an employee, what will happen to the slums living beside the sewage drains? People in the slumps are already living a deleterious life style and to add to their misery if we dump the hotel waste, which will be an extravagant amount, will surely finish off what are left of them. So considering the points of both the sides, construction of a more effective sewage treatment plant was adopted, and that is how the discussion has influenced the decision of the company.

Secondly, say the conflicting viewpoints are so strong that might lead to conflicts between the groups. Then such discussion has to be handled through discussion because in such situations suppressing one’s views over other will lead to unethical situations, and may eventually lead to implosion of the professional environment. Maintaining a good ethical work environment is necessary for higher productivity.

Democracy, the most preferred and most effective governance in the world hold discussion its top priority. Almost every decision put up by the government, has passed the process of screening through discussion, unlike monarchy and conservatives where a single person or group take the decision without considering others points of views. That is the reason why democracy has such wide acceptance as it allows its people to question the authority and help in the decision-making process through putting forward their views.

Therefore, in a nutshell, every conflicting point of view has to be settled through discussion, not only to subside the conflicts but to enhance the decision screening process, since discussions had always been an effective source of purifying any decision.