In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may seems that by implementing road improvement project like Butler County, Prunty County will have less number of road accidents .But there is lot of weakness in the arguement.

It is stated by lowering speed limit,number of accidents has not decreased but it is not known if the percentage of accidents has increased or decreased. Maybe the population of Prunty County has increased. Or economic condition had become better. More

people are going for road trips. Trade conditions has become better. Maybe the number of cars in Prunty County has increased so there might have been an increase in no. of accident but decrease in percentage of accident.

Furthermore, there is no indication of conditions of Prunty County highway, lane width,roughness of highways and visibility is never mentioned. It can be in better state than Butler County Highway.

But trafic in Butler County might be less than that in Prunty County , so speed of 55 mph is appropriate for it . But Prunty

County require much less speed limit.

Moreover,data is not sufficient for analysis .There is 25 percent fewer accidents reported in Butler city this past year than there were five year ago. But we don't know if there were increase or decrease in number of accidents in past one or two year. Five years ago , both the counties might have less traffic so the number might have decreased for both.

So without complete information and data , it cannot be concluded

that undertaking the same kind of project will decrease the number of accidents in Prunty County.