To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to your position.

A public official must maintain his highest ethical and moral standards but not always. Under a few circumstances, it is more important to be pragmatic rather than quixotic. But in the grand scheme, I agree that he should maintain the highest standards of ethical standards.

The subordinates of a public official look upto him as a leader and follow his way of working. For example, if an official comes late to the office then his subordinates will take this as an acceptable norm. Then they may also start coming late. This bad habit will gradually reflect in their quality of work. As a leader, he is supposed to get his department and his subordinates to give as good results as possible which will not happen if he himself has a lax attitude.

Also, if the public official does not maintain the highest ethical standards and is instead involved in a few bad practices, it can be used by his subordinates to blackmail him and he may not be able to get them to do what he wants as their leader. For example, a public official may be taking extravagant gifts from a client which may be technically termed as bribe and one of his subordinates who is not good at his work knows about this. If the official wants to fire his subordinate on grounds of incompetence, he may be blackmailed by his subordinate that his action will be revealed to everyone in the department if he does that. This way his effectiveness as a leader can be seriously hindered if he does not hold his highest ethical standards.

However, a public official should also be pragmatic and under certain situations, he can do away with not following such high moral standards. For instance, if an official is on duty, he is not supposed to go away from it. But if his wife is pregnant and a certain emergency situation comes up, then it is better for him to leave from duty to attend to his wife. Under such situations, it is preferable for him not to hold such high moral standards.

On a conclusive note, sometimes there arrive situations in which it is better to be practical even though he may not be able to maintain his highest ethical standards. However, I believe that a public official should maintain his highest ethical and moral standards.