To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

In this statement, an assumption exist which is that being an effective leader is paralleled to being ethical and moral. However, the latter can be refuted since an elected individual can rule without necessarily possessing those core values.

While guiding a nation and under certain circumstances, morals may be spared, but do not necessarily undermine the quality of the work conducted. For instance, an on duty public official may perform exemplary work and display ethical demeanor while on a more personal level may be having an immoral affair. This particular instance was the center of a scandal during George Bush’s presidential mandate. He broke the sacred vows of marriage, but independently of his work for this nation. He created a legacy that was untarnished by immoral personal conduct. Would this fact lessen the severity of his actions or brought tolerance to adultery? Certainly not. However, his skills as a leader were not affected by his inappropriate personal conduct.

Furthermore, a leader who has the audacity to make dishonorable decision may be an increasingly triumphant one. In fact, part of the responsibility of a ruler is the need to make difficult decision and compromise in ways some may consider unethical but still deemed necessary. During a catastrophic natural event, such as a tsunami, it is up to our public representative to dispatch emergency teams often adjudicating on the number of casualties. The moral view embodies the idea of saving every life as every individual is precious. However, with limited resources, strategic and dishonorable moves may be decided to limit costs, damages while saving as much lives as possible. This compromised position, while debatable, may be more productive than using all men power and financial resources carelessly without prioritizing.

Nevertheless, there is an undeniable saying that people need to live by example. In order to inspire, guide and lead a nation with as much positive outcomes as possible, society seeks righteous man with integrity. Never were candidates for elections promoted as unethical though robust and aggressive. It goes without saying that society labeled a good leader as one with ethical principles. The thought process being that embezzlement, trickery and lies would be less likely to become the norm and dominate governments. True character often reflect on a person’s action and precaution against corruption, violence and tyranny are taken by choosing a ruler of honorable principles.

Although ideals and labels dominates the mind of human beings, ethical values do not come hand in hand with successful leadership. Certainly, It could minimize negatives outcome resulting but no assurance can be granted as everyone has a dark side, a secret garden and impulses that is intangible unless allowed to be seen.