The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is essential that the quality of leadership be cultivated in people at a young age so that they grow up to be effecient leaders, whether in the field of government, industry or any other. A good leader plays a very important role in the progress of any field and contributes to an overall development of the society at large. Some people believe that young people should instilled with a sense of cooperation rather than competition to prepare them for leadership roles. Though cooperation is an necessary quality in any leader, it is not the only quality that has to be present, and the person has to be prepared to face competition too.

A leader is required to listen to his followers, respect their views, address their grievances and work towards arriving at solutions. An integral part in this process is to cooperate with his fellow workers to fulfill a common goal. For instance, the Prime Minister of a country has to discuss the nation's issues with several other officials of the government and listen to the varied opinions and interests of its people. A government is bound to collapse and fail to serve its purpose if the Prime Minister is uncooperative, that is if he disregards others' viewpoints and acts solely on his ideologies. It also wouldn't do good if he doesn't seek any help from the other mininsters and sets out to accomplish the agendas on his own. A government functions efficiently only by the cooperation of the various minsters among themselves and with the Prime Minster.

The importance of learning how to deal with competition while being a leader also cannot be ignored. A company's CEO is bound to face stiff competition in the market from other similar companies. The success of the company relies heavily on how it is able to handle the competition and maintain a significant share in the market. The CEO should thus know how to not succumb to the competition and instead work a way around it. He might be a very cooperative person, but if he isn't prepared to face his competitors, how will he be able to lead his company forward? Similarly, in all fields, competition is a part and parcel of a leadership role. Hence, it is absolutely necessary that a leader be prepared to recognise how competition affects his company, how to mitigate them and how to emerge victorious.

People who support the view that cooperation is more essential than competition to be taught to budding leaders would argue that competition drives leaders to resort to immoral or unethical practices to ward off their competitors. That is, a leader might be more focussed on doing damage to the competitors by harming their operations rather than focussin on the progress of his company. This is a very valid concern, but therein lies the need for a proper guidance regarding the right ways to handle them. They have to be taught how not to resort to such practices and why it is not morally right to do so. Such education would instill in them the moral values which would prevent them from doing so, and thus make them capable to deftly come out better in the competitive race.

In conclusion, I agree that the quality of cooperation with others is to be instilled in the young to prepre them for leadership roles, but I do not agree that competition should be encouraged. Competition is inevitable when a person becomes a leader and thus both the qualities are equally important in making a good leader.