The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The human race is ahead of any other race on this planet only due to traits of having competition and cooperation. Cooperation i.e. working together has survived human in all the conditions from simple row to giant catastrophe. Sense of competion has always inspired human to do something better than others. Speaker here asserts that to prepare young people for leadership in any field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Agreed that cooperation is cardinal in leadership but competition is also crucial. So I agree partially with the speaker.

First of all, leadership means you lead some project and your subordinates follows you to complete one common goal. The field of leadership can be any. For instance, in industry of electronics, the team has goal to design one chip for latest computer and team leader gives direction and fellow engineers design accordingly. Now the sense of cometition doesn't work here. All the team member has to work in a sync and team leader also has to cooperate with them, so that product arrives in the market at right time. Proverbially said, if you want to go fast, go alone and if you want to go far, go together. This line explains all.

Further, all the movements for freadom or agains rascism are succeeded because of cooperation of the people. Freadom movement in India or in South Africa are the great example of the same. The Mahatma Gandhi or Nelson Mandella alone could not able to free the country from the so called the Britishraj. Mahatma Gandhi walk along with all the people, and successfully acomplished a talk with non-violance which seemed impossible initially. Any leader is responsible to accomplish the goals he or she has targeted, without sense of cooperation, it is very difficult.

However, Sense of competition inspires us to accomplish something great. And according to me sense of competition is not needed to be instilled in human kind. We have that trait from the birth. We compete in petty games we played when child, we compete for good grades, and then for good job. Our world is designed in such a way that compition is inevitable.

Sometimes, working alone in an austere conditions, scientists discovers or invents something, but to make a great leader for the future, trait of cooperation is must and sense of cooperation must be instilled in the young people.