The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Young people are the backbone of the society and they play an important role in leading the society as a political leader, industrial leader etc. It is important that they should have a sense of cooperation among them and they should not compete with each other.

Competition keeps the youth busy in following the already established standard and prevent them from exploring new things. For example, When students compete with each other to get a better grade, they stick to the established curriculum by the school to secure a good grade and does not put the focus on exploring new things. Whereas when students have sense of cooperation among them, they work together and bring innovative ideas and it helps in their overall growth.

Leaders are responsible for leading the society to a better future. So all leaders have same goal, the well being of the society hence it is very important that they should cooperate with each other in order to build effective policies, develop solution to a problem because when leaders cooperate, they discuss the pros and cons of a solution which prevents any ineffective solutions from getting implemented. For example today, the world is facing the threat of terrorism and many nations are working together to couter it, such as India, USA, England etc. So if they compete with each other to prove that the plan developed by an individual country is better than other then it would have been impossible to reduce the act of terrorism to this extent.

Some may argue that competition brings a greed of success and drive the people to work hard, it is true that competition makes us give more effort to a cause but a group effort will usually have more positive result than individual efforts hence putting efforts in cooperation will lead the society to a greater good.

In the view of the above mentioned points, I agree that the best way to prepare the youth for leadership in different fields is by instilling a sense of cooperation among them not a sense of competition.