Best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

I disagree that best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. In fast pace world like today, competition is required but what about cooperation? It is an important factor too. It teaches us empathy, sharing and so many good qualities. It is with the combination of both you can achieve success in any field.

Cooperation is required because it makes us good human. Consider an example where a student is not performing well and he has to perform since there is a lot of competition in the class. Now, it is possible that he is not getting what is being taught and end up failing because no student helped him, because there was such a competition in class. This scenario would change if there was a sense of cooperation among students. If someone is not performing well, then child will ask his fellow students and they will make him understand the concepts etc. And thus, he will be able to clear the exam. This created empathy among students. Also teaches good values, that someone helped me and I too shall help someone in need.

Consider another example, through competition you have become CEO of a company, but no have no understanding of cooperation, What now? What would happen? What can you do with the competition spirit now? You sure need cooperation at this point; to understand your team members, make sure they are happy, listen to them and to resolve there problems. So, it is up to a point that competition spirit would help you. After that it cooperation spirit is required.

Hence you need to have both competition and cooperation spirit. And competition spirit should not come into the way of cooperation spirit. If there is needs to be a competition spirit, make sure your competition is with yourself. You have to improve from yesterday self. If you have both cooperation and competition spirit only then you can prosper in life.