"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Good leadership qualities should be ingrained in people from the young to better prepare them for their future positions in government, industries and other fields. Good leadership qualities include ability of making decisions for the team, the self-confidence, and the desire to excel and push the team for success. But a good leader unwilling to cooperate can be harmful for the team as whole. So the question of cooperation vs competition as a quality to be instilled in young is not so straightforward.

Inclination for competition makes people to constantly improve themselves and try to overtake others who are much better than them. People with strong sense of competition always try to conquer their own flaws rather than ignoring them. Just like how it is seen in sports, a new high-score always results in competitors working harder to compete. This push for excellence is necessary in a good leader, lest the leader go easy on the targets their team is trying to achieve.

Not everyone can be a good leader; humans vary considerably in their traits. If a person with predisposition for leadership, is forced to cooperate, it would hamper their self inclination of commanding and making decision for a group. Competitive feeling, however, promotes such people, and the ultimatly results in ensurement of the best leaders to occupy the top positions.

Leaders have to be among the best in their fields. If not, the achievements of other people can undermine their authority. People who are raised to be more cooperative than competitive are more likely to prioritize their own success less than others', in which case a person with more competitive disposition would take their advantage and instead snatch the leadership position. Thus, a leader with more cooperative feeling, is not in a stable position.

No great thing has ever been build without contribution of myriad of people. Even Einstein would not have succeed in formulating his theory of general relativity, if it were not for the countless scientists who build the basic theories of physics needed before the Einstein's theory could emerge. Thus, one could say that cooperation is always a better trait to have. But this conclusion assumes that there could not be cooperation existing together with competition. It could be said without any doubt that all those individual scientists had been competiting among each other, which was the ultimate reason for the progress of science.

Cooperation and competition both are necessary traits in a good human being. I would choose both of them with equal degree for myself. But if I were to choose between cooperation and competition, I would choose competition, because it gives direction to my life. Similarly, young should be instilled with a sense of competition more than the sense of cooperation.