The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The statement is claiming how young people can be trained for leadership in government, industry, or other fields, by means of cooperation and not competition.

The cooperation in any type of field always generate the result aggrandized and not for a particular individual.It means to bind the team together with similar interests and building a cumulative output. While competition relies on personal improvement and a feeling of better than anyone in any particular field.

The reason behind the competition and cooperation definition stated above is that both are necessary for development in any field according to the required outcome.

For example, if one have to work in a sports team than, of course, cooperation is key to beat the opponent. If team members won't cooperatee than their common goal, to win, would not be achievable. But if they don't look at the competition than it can turn out to be harmful for their aim. It's always good to prepare at your best but without knowing strength and weakness of the opponent 100 percent would not be enough.

While statement is focusing on cooperation among young people for better leadership, a healthy competition is never harmful but always a way to get motivated.

Young people surely needs to know the importance of cooperation as they mostly are rambled and desultory they don't focus on cooperation and are agressive in terms of competition. But thats because they haven't been through the similar phase. When future is concerened they need to be moulded in to a person that know how to cooperate to boost productivity and use competiton to motivate themselves.

Cooperation alone is not enough for leadership or working in any field. You need to know the all sides of the opponent and use their weakness to beat them or strenght to prepare yourself. Competition and cooperation while contrary to each other in terms go hand in hand for best way to prepare young people for leadership in any field. Only thing needs to be done is to teach them the subtleness of the cooperation and competition relationship.