The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The claim that the best way to prepare young people for leadership in various fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition is a compelling one. However, the claim is not something that I can fully agree with due to its 'all or nothing' approach by completely disregarding the importance of competition.

Coorperation and team work are important values needed when in position of leadership and young people would have to learn how to work closely without conflicts with other people. If an impasse is reached and conflicting opinions arise, they will need to 'agree to disagree' about their differences, decide on solution and go with it. This way, an organization or company can continue working harmoniously with favourable results. For example in a football team, the players might not agree with some of the tactical decisions of the manager, such as the role each of the players should take. However, players should cast their any disagreement and go along with the decision of the manager, to acheive a common goal which is to win games.

However, if everyone was to 'play by the book' and not have competition, we can see that an entire country might suffer. It is none the more true than in a democratic country that has various political parties with different idealogies and vision for the country. The whole idea that opposition parties exists is to challenge the current adminstration policies and decisions. This helps keep the current government on their toes and not be complacent with their policy-making decisions

Competition will help serve the people better because the ruling party will know that any slip ups will result in them being ousted from the government.

Further, leadership that has no competition will stifle creativity and innovation. Talent will not be motivated to constantly overacheive and seek to improve the organisation, perhaps by taking over the leadership role, if they are expected to coorperate with current leaders in their organisation. As a result, organisations will suffer.

In conclusion, we can see that leadership regardless of industry or fields should consist of a balance of coorperation and competition. We can see that the application to the extreme, where only the presence of cooperation in leadership roles is expected can have deleterous outcome. Therefore, the truth of the claim is limited.