The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The claim that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in various fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation is a compelling one. Looking closely at the question of cooperation and how it has worked for past and present leaders, I would have to agree with the claim.

The desire to compete is inherent to human nature and it is not something that needs to be ‘instilled’ in young people. Humans will always try to outdo others: be it in school, office or even in social life. Although at first glance it may appear that leader must have a competitive edge in order to gain and maintain a leadership role, actively instilling competitiveness will result in leaders with destructive tendencies. The epitome of this is found in the extreme example of Adolf Hitler of Nazi Germany. In his fanatical pursuit to show everyone that the Aryan race is the master race of the world, Hitler single-handedly caused the death of millions of Jewish lives, the after effect still felt today by people all over the world. We do not, however, need to consider such extreme examples in the past to find competitive leaders whose acts resulted in deleterious outcomes. The recent global economic meltdown was caused in large part by leaders of American banks and financial institutions who competed aggressively with each other for the almighty dollar.

Cooperative leaders in an organisation are more likely to succeed in a collective pursuit of a goal. Sergey Brin and Larry Page had the idea of Google to compete against the main search engine of their time, Alta Vista. Sergey and Larry’s competitive drive assisted in building the idea, but it was the collaborative effort with people that helped brought the product into fruition. Without the cooperation of others, we might not have Google as we know of today and which has become synonymous with the term ‘search engine’. A business honcho or CEO who does not listen to inputs from people working with him and adamant about doing things a certain way will result in a dysfunctional company. Even if the leader is the biggest fish in the pond, discord in a corporation will only have two outcomes. Either a bigger fish will come along and take over the leader’s role, or that the smaller fishes will team up to oust the leader.

One could argue that competitive drive is vital to succeed, and it is none the more true than in the world of sports. A soccer team such as Manchester United has been so successful throughout the years because of the competitive nature of their players. However, let’s not forget that the captain of a football squad will need to ensure that the team stays together through thick and thin, listening to player’s concern and feedback to ensure that everyone in the team is happy. The competitive drive of the captain complemented by a sense of cooperation and camaraderie in the team are key factors that would ultimately lead the team to win trophies.

In conclusion, it seems most critical for society to instil cooperative values in young people than competitive attitude. Competition is a natural thing that will develop with or without encouragement but the same cannot be said of cooperation (just think of kids in the playground). Whilst it is true that a leader will need to win some battles once in awhile, for the most part leaders would need to work in unison with people around them to be able to succeed in the role. Ultimately, a leader who fails to have learn the value of cooperation will be a short-lived leader.