The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is certainly true that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership roles in diverse fields is through the promotion of cooperation. The idea of a democracy, is based on a governmental body whose primary role is to serve the people. On the other hand, given the fact that society is driven by a capitalist economy, many might argue that achieving high ranking position can only be accomplished through the protestant work ethic and the spirit of competition. However, even these forms of individual economic competition ultimately rely upon a high level of connectivity with the people upon whom they depend. Therefore, merely promoting competition—a Darwinian framework of survival of the fittest—will ultimately produce a society of individualistic members who are motivated primarily by their own self interest; insular and pragmatic, without the instilling of cooperation, the spirit of democracy would be lost.

One need look no further than the current presidential elections to see how competition has sullied the spirit of cooperation: in fact, the race between democratic candidate Hillary Clinton and republican candidate Donald Trump has become—as framed within popular media—no more than a smear campaign, a competition for the cooperation of the common people. Scandals over the believability and truthfulness of each candidate have dominated their campaigns. Indeed, competition has arisen around the very idea of cooperation, obscuring the larger issues. For instance, America, as the world’s greatest economic and military power, has grave responsibility upon the global stage to promote international cooperation between nations. Bill Clinton fostered this spirit of cooperation by attempting to unite the Israeli state. Not only America, but also in Korea, President Kim Dae Jung was lauded for his efforts to reunite North and South Korea, enacting policies of economic cooperation and collaborative projects. Its easy to forget the importance of cooperation to the role of a nation’s primary leader when news reports reveal new scandals each day in the competitive race for presidency. However, once the campaign trail comes to an end, it is not the competition to become president that is remembered, but a president’s actions to unite or polarize their nations from global alliances and international obligations. And even more importantly, how well they cooperated with the demands and desires of their people. Not only is cooperation important in the realm of global politics, but also within the competitive capitalist economic sphere as well.

Today, the business world is dominated by a few large tech-giants. However, just as much as the spirit of competition was present from the inception all the way to their rise to prominence, companies like Facebook, Google, and Amazon, have secured their position as technological goliaths through the spirit of cooperation. These technology companies have found success not through blind competition for the most cutting-edge devices and services, but by their connectivity to the very people they serve. Indeed, their very competition is based upon who can meet the demands of the people: who can offer the most convenience to our daily lives through technological innovations such as increased cloud storage, accessibility to information, and convenience of use. These advancements in themselves, in order to be competitive, require a great deal of cooperation between departments—from the code-writers to public relations, a certain synergy is necessary for these tech-giants to even compete.

Even in professional sports—a field that depends on the very idea of competition—before a team can win, it is commonly believed that they must also unite as a cohesive unit. It is not uncommon to hear NBA champions reminisce on a winning season with mantras that embody the spirit of cooperation like, “all for one”, or “togetherness”. Indeed, within any societal body, from the macro-level of national political leadership down to a micro-level of group athletics, competition itself depends upon the spirit of cooperation.