The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

In this competitive era, leadership constitutes the most important part for achieving goals and success in any sector. The prompt attempts to address this issue by proposing that the society must instill a sense of cooperation rather than competition to the youth for developing leadership in them. However, in my opinion, I mostly disagree with the notion and believe that youth should be competitive rather than cooperative in the present world to achieve success through leadership for two reasons. Nonetheless, I do concede that sometimes cooperation might help society to solve its problems in a few situations.

To embark, a sense of competition leads to the leadership among youth because a competitive men or women can success in every business and sectors through his/her capabilities. The competitive leader is able to run the business a any costs of difficulties and upheavals. For instance, Elon Musk - the CEO of Space-X and Tesla car- who is now among the world's richest person, is very competitive in his business that he successfully raised the so called down business of Tesla and Space-X to a height through competition with other car brands. If he was not competitive and rather became cooperative with other business firms, today the brand of Tesla and his other products won't flourish. Hence, societies should focus on developing sense of competition among youth.

The sense of competition not only develops leadership in the youth but also results in the formation and development of new inventions. For example, during Cold war between Russia and USA, at first Russia launched the human less rocket to the space, with the competing sense, USA launched the space rocket with human. This is the perfect example for the competition develops into new invention. In addition, sense of competition among the students lead them to acquire new knowledges and skills too. There is competition among students in a class for achieving higher grades, which leads them to develop leadership skills and techniques. Hence, competition is an important vehicle for developing leadership among students.

However, in few cases, like social works and volunteering, cooperation is valuable for achieving goals. For example, fighting with the COVID-19 pandemic needs cooperation among the nations and citizens globally to save the world from the disease. Though sense of competition among the countries also may result into development of the vaccine against the virus. Thus, I believe that societies should incorporate the sense of competition rather than cooperation.