The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The issue here of whether the society should instill cooperation instead of competition to prepare its young people foe leadership is rather a contentious one. While competition is neccecary to bring out the leadership in someone, cooperative quality is needed as much. I agree with author that society needs to instill cooperation and not competition to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other field.

Firstly, competition is already a inherent part of one's life. One does competion with one thing or the other every moment in the life. If not someone else, one competes with oneself in day to day life.We compete to do better than what is previously done by someone else or even by us. We wake up every morning and try to beat us and do better in every aspect of life. So it is not for society to instill competition in young people. Rather they can instill cooperation in them and bring a leader out of them. Leader is suppose to represent the ones under him. To represent them and do good for them, cooperation is must. Without cooperation, leaders can neither represent nor do justice to the people he represents. So instead of instilling competition in young people, society should instill cooperation in them.

Looking backing in history, we can see some great leaders. Studying them lets us see that taking competition too far did not work good for them too. One obviuous example that comes to mind is Adolf Hitler. He took competition too far and his competition to the world that his race was the best is remembered for bad reasons. If not for too extreme leadership, we can see George Washington. He had a competitive mindset but also he used cooperation in a constructive way. He chose his council with the people that disagreed with him. He considered the oppositions' points and cooperated with them to make better decisions. One can see Mahatma Gandhi base his entire freedom journey for our country on coperation. Unity and cooperation amongst citizens of India according to him were the biggest weapon we could use against the Britishers, and it worked well.

Finally, we can see that even though competition is important for leadership to strive but cooperation is needed as much or even more for leadership to be successful, be it in government or in industries ot anywhere. So society should focus on instilling cooperation in young people not competition.