The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompt mentioned above is about what is the best way to prepeare and train young people for leadership roles in any field of interest. The main question is what is this best way that the society can adapt to this make the upcoming young generation more suitable for leadership positions - by inculcating a sense of cooperation or competition in them? I strongly agree that the instilling a sense of cooperation in the young minds would make them better leaders than by inclulcating a sense of competition in them.

To begin with, a sense of cooperation will help a person anywhere and anytime. Where ever one goes he or she needs to cooperate with other and work as a team, let it be a workplace or school project wherein students are to work as a team. For example, in a workplace an employee is assigned as a project head of a team by the manager, and given the deadline as end of the week. So, in this scenario, this employee needs to work with his team and not compete with them in order to finish the work on time. He needs to be the leader, and assign everyone their work and make sure they coordinate everything properly. If in this scenario, he chooses to compete, he will want to prove to his other employees that he is an indispensible asset to the company, so he might take up all the work, and does not give any other person the opportunity, which is definitely not a quality of good leader.

Secondly, a true leader will try to motivate the team and encourage them even when times are bad, for which a sense of cooperativeness is arrantly required. For example, lets say there has been made a mistake by one of the team members in a contract which was a million dollar contract is extremely important to the company. Now, a true leader will correct this team member in private, and teach him or her how to fix their mistake and how to find a way out of this predicament. The leader will accept that it was his mistake and not blame the team instead even though it was a blunder made by one his team members. In this scenario, let's say the leader is extremely competitive, now the leader will put all the blame on the team and stigmatize and belittle that particular team member in front of everyone, which is exactly how a leader should not be.

Lastly, some people might say that competition is good as the whole world is cmpetitive. I don't deny it but competition can sometimes be healthy and sometimes not be very healthy. Now what is a healthy competition? A competition that does not evoke a sense of evil in you. Sometimes people get extremely competitive and miss the entire point of it. Competiveness, it could lead to jealousy, hatred between the competitiors and they may end up destroying and annihilating everything they have.

This is not what competitions should bring out in a person.

In conclusion, the best way for a society to prepare the young minds for leadership is by including a sense of cooperativeness and not competition.