The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A good leader in any field is the one who motivates, instills confidence and above all manages team efficiently by maintaining good rapport with everyone; uphold team spirit and work together to succeed. All these qualities are developed by instilling a sense of cooperation among young people right from their childhood. Cooperation is necessary in all walks of life and it is the best way to create good leaders in a society. Competition on the other hand, though prevalent in any field might not be helpful in developing good leadership skills.

First of all, there is a need for cooperation among people in a well organized group, good governance, industry etc. Young minds absorb qualities taught to them in their developing stages. Education plays a vital role in instilling good qualities among children. If children are taught about the importance of sharing, team work, leadership qualities through various group activities in school such as sports, music, dance etc they develop a sense of cooperation and instill these skills in their everyday life. Children, who are good team players, develop confidence, social skills and could emerge as good leaders in future.

Furthermore, family also plays an important role in instilling sense of cooperation among children. For example, parents should teach their children to share with their siblings/friends, importance of working together and how good results are achieved through good team work. Children learn quickly from their surroundings, so the family members should work in cooperation and serve as role models to children.

A sense of healthy competition is good for the growth of an individual. But when competition goes beyond a certain level it could turn to selfishness, jealousy, hatred etc. which are detrimental to the society. For example, if a captain of a sports team is too competitive and is concerned only about his/her success neglecting the team’s development, could be successful individually but will fail as a captain/leader and that team would not succeed.

In conclusion, good leaders are those who cooperate with others, work towards successful organization be it government, industry, sports or any other field. Being competitive can help a person succeed individually but not as a group because extreme competition could lead to rivalry, quarrels etc which results in negative effects in any field. Therefore the society should prepare young people by instilling a sense of cooperation, not competition.