The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government,

industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that leaders are essential for a society to become prosperous. leaders would bring people from different background together and lead them to achieve their common goal. Thus, for a society, it is of paramount importance to train skillful and effective leaders. In this regard, there has been no shortage of debates among scholars on whether it is more important to have an attitude of competition or cooperation. Actually, as we all know, competitiveness is a must for a leader to arise and fight for his/ her goal. but, I think having the ability of efficient cooperation with diverse people would have much greater effects on becoming a successful leader. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most crucial reasons to substantiate my stance.

one of the reasons coming to mind at first is that as it was mentioned above, people need to compete to others to improve their position and have the motives for trying hard to become better than other. but, it should be considered that every person will be born with an inherent sense of competition, some more or less. On the other hand, a high level of competition will deteriorate people. because it brings an excess amount of stress and concern to always be the winner and the best. Therefore, if the government emphasizes on competition in people, not only will they not be successful leaders, but it also would be harmful to themselves and sometimes others. too much sense of competition will bring a sense of jealousy in people and make them aggressive and revengers. By way of illustration, we can refer to Hitler as a leader with a high level of competition who wanted the whole world to be under his control and this sense made him kill many people to achieve his goal and become dominant on the whole world. Were he a leader with an attitude of cooperation, he would not do such a miserable action and he would also become a great leader. this example demonstrates my point about the superiority of cooperation to competition in importance to become an effective leader.

The other equally compelling reason to corroborate my opinion is that although being a competitive leader may be paid more attention in the history, but cooperative leaders are more beloved and cherished by people because they have been successful to manage a group of various people without applying any force or harsh behavior on people. they can keep people in an integrated group by cooperation. I do not ignore the essence of competition but in my mind, the concentration of training great leaders should be on cooperation, as it is an adventitious attitude and needs to be learned during people’s lives. In this case, I can example Mark Zuckerberg, who came up with the idea of Facebook due to his sense of competition and his idea become a successful one because of his ability to cooperate with others. he could not continue his way alone and he needs other people to help him in this way and some others to believe his idea as a great one that can change our society. without the ability to cooperate with others, people would be some dogmatic leaders who stick to their opinions and do not let a way for their idea to improve by others’ creative opinions.

In short, all of the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that a favorable leader should have both sense of competition to start, and cooperation to continue his way toward success. Since competition is an attitude which is inherent and too much amount of it will hurt, as mentioned above, cooperation should be the focus of government for breeding great leaders. By doing so, benefiting effective leaders which results in a prosperous society would not be far-fetched.