The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

I do agree with the view in this statement that the positive should be praised while I cannot actually fully accept the “all-or-nothing” perspective since I don’t deem that all negative behaviors could be ignored.

At the first glance at this statement, the former part of it cuts a reasonable figure. Certainly, to praise the good things is an effective and valuable way to educate. The reason lies in the psychology that every people wants to get acceptance from others. Children will gain delight from some admirable remarks from their friends, let alone how proud they will be if they get praising feedback from those in authority. Hence, if positive comments are given to students when they do good things, they might realize that to do those things means to be a nice people who will get respect. Students, therefore, will continue doing desirable things. As a result, agreeable properties such as friendliness, confidence and self-reliance would prosper in a group because they are encouraged by the teacher. Finally, the goal of education is achieved. Isn’t exactly the aim of education to cultivate those merits into the youth? That’s why to say that praising the positive actions is “the best way” to some extent.

In reference to the latter of the statement, however, I cannot stand by it without reservation through scrutiny.

The rationale of ignoring negative actions is contingent. In cases that the negative actions mentioned are insignificant, to ignore them is the right thing to do. Actions such as making noises in class could surely be ignored, since students behaving like this are usually seeking for teachers’ attention. If the teacher does not care them, they may feel frustrated thus stop. Should the teacher criticize them on the contrary, they might feel as a winner and repeat the actions. Hence, on this occasion not to give the actions attention is the better choice.

Whereas when those negative things are serious ones, ignoring misbehaviors could be counterproductive. When those bad things, including cheating in the exams, stealing and bully, happen, the teacher is responsible to punish the misbehaviors. It is for the reason that those actions cost much that the teacher should never show negligence. If the teacher does not regulate those actions, the students who obey the rule all the time and those whose interest are damaged would feel hurt. Plus, negligence might indicate an irresponsibility of the leader and an ineffectiveness of the rule. As a consequence, nobody wants to trust the teacher as well as obey the principle. How could we talk about education if the educator has no authority? Only if the teacher strictly punishes the misbehaviors and comfort the victims could everybody know the serious consequences of disobeying the rule. In this way those who do negative actions could correct themselves, while those behaving themselves constantly would continue their merit.

To sum up, I cannot agree more that praising positive actions is the best way to teach. However, whether should the teacher ignore the misbehaviors depends on the seriousness of the actions. The statement is claimed to the extreme, thus modifying the expression in a conditional way when it comes to negative actions will enhance it.